Opening Hours:
  Monday to Sunday
  9:00am to 8:00pm
Service Range: Desexing, Vaccinations, Microchip Implantation, and Flea & Parasites Prevention.
Direct Line : 2475 2231
  (Please call for appointment)
HOME > PET INFO > Useful Tips
Useful - What to do if my beloved pet has rheumatism?

First of all we have to understand that rheumatism cannot be cured.  More attention should be paid to the daily details of a rheumatic animal.  Symptoms of rheumatism can be relieved by medications or supplements.  Many people believe that a joint-degenerated animal should have more rest instead of exercise.  As a matter of fact, moderate exercise, particularly swimming, is therapeutic and can stimulate the metabolism and nutrient supply of cartilage.  However, not all kinds of exercise are suitable for joint-degenerated animals.  Only exercises that are of lower strength level, well-monitored and effective ones can help by avoiding further trauma or aggravation.

Hydrotherapy and physiotherapy can both be therapeutic workouts for the animals.  Swimming is one good option in the summer time.  It is also advisable to have veterinary opinions to see if injection of bone supplement or nutritional supplements (such as fish oil, glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate) could help.  Acupuncture may also help to reduce arthritic symptoms.    

There are in fact many things to note in the daily routines of taking care a rheumatic animal.  For example:

1. Proper control of the dog’s body weight in order to avoid further loading to its limbs and joints;
2. Change of climate, wet and cold environment and a cold floor can exacerbate the symptoms of arthritis.  Soft mats on the floor can relieve the pain in dogs by reducing the impact of vibration while walking or jumping.
3. To improve the home environment with simple décor and to wrap corners of tables or walls with soft protectors.
4. Put the dog’s bowl on a higher level so it can eat in a comfortable position.  This will relieve the pain in its neck and shoulder joint.
5. Material of the dog bed should be adequately firm, breathable and moist resistant.  The mattress should be able to drain the water when the dog urinates on its bed.  Jumping or excessive exercise should also be avoided.

Whether it is the plan of treatment or the amount of supplements that should be given to the animal, it all varies case by case.  Owners like you should seek professional advice before starting any treatment plan.  Supplements are available at the SAA Veterinary Centre and we also provide expert advice on individual case.  Please contact Veterinary Centre on 2475-2231 if required.

開診時間:
  逢星期一至日
  上午9時正 至 下午8時正
提供專業絕育手術、防疫注射、植入晶片、預防體內外寄生蟲等等服務
預約電話: 2475 2231
  (敬請致電預約時間)
主頁 > 寵物資訊 > 寵物小貼士
本月小貼士 - 寵兒患上風濕

首先,風濕是不能根治的。如動物有風濕便需要在生活細節上多加注意。風濕的病徵可以以藥物及補充品幫助。另外,好多人誤以為關節退化的小動物不適宜做運動,只能好好休息,但其實適當的運動是一個很好的治療,特別是游泳,可以刺激軟骨的代謝及營養供應。 但不是所有運動都適合性關節退化的動物、因此必須選擇強度較低、且在良好監控的狀況下有效率的活動,才能避免運動傷害加重症狀。

運動治療可選擇水療或物理治療,夏天時可多游泳。另外,可查詢獸醫意見為牠們注射骨針和補充劑(魚油、葡萄糖胺和硫酸軟骨素) 及針灸都可以有助舒緩作用。

日常生活都有需要注意的事項, 例如
1. 控制狗狗的體重避免對四肢及關節造成負荷 ;
2. 氣候變化、又濕又冷的環境與冰冷的地面,皆有可能促使關節炎的病情更加惡化,因此有關節炎的狗隻在地板上加軟地墊可減輕狗狗在走路、跳躍時對關節造成的震動及引起之疼痛 ;
3. 改善居家環境,佈置盡量簡約,桌角、牆角等以軟墊包覆
4. 將狗隻的餐碗墊高,令牠飲食姿勢更舒服、以減少肩頸關節的疼痛感。
5. 床的物料選擇需要有足夠承托力及疏水透氣物料,即使有漏尿的問題,物料會很快把水排走,亦要避免讓狗隻跳高跳低或過度運動。

無論是任何的治療或補充劑的份量都需要按照小動物的情況而決定,所以請各位主人詢問專業意見才進行治療。於SAA動物醫療中心也能購買補充劑並針對不同個案提供專業的意見,如有任何所需可致電 2475-2231聯絡中心職員。